Faith

Some say that it is hard to have faith or to keep their faith when times are hard. I wish they would realize that when times are at their hardest, that’s when your faith should be at its strongest. It’s called “testing your faith” for a reason. God will also not give us more than what we can handle.
A great friend of mine has this quote from C.S. Lewis as his signature on his email:
“I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen, not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.”
This is the best way I have seen to describe the word FAITH.
To try to explain it to someone who doesn’t have a relationship with Christ is difficult. How do you explain a word that has so many meanings? It’s an action, a feeling, a trust, and it is a daily way of life.
Having faith in God’s love and plans for us when we are struggling is like when your are on a sinking ship in the middle of the ocean during a perfect storm and out of nowhere there is a light in the darkness. You take a leap of faith and go towards it because you have better chance of being saved if you are surrounded by light than if you were to stay in the darkness of a sinking ship.
My own faith gets tested everyday but I believe that He loves me and would not allow me to feel the way I do, go through the things I have gone through if there wasn’t a greater reason for it.
I have experienced pain and joy. I have loved unconditionally and been broken hearted by it. I know the sheer blessing of having a child; watching her grow daily into a beautiful, loving, and creative young woman. Unfortunately I also know what it is like to not have one through my own mistakes and selfishness. Through these my faith has grown stronger and lately it has been tested more but I trust in Him and that if it is in His will then I will be rewarded when my faith collides with His promises

Leave a Reply

