Sickened by our society

Yesterday I lost a little bit of faith in humanity. My heart aches for what we as a society have become. We are so selfish that we care more about getting help to be rung up in store than we do about an elderly woman lying hurt in the middle of an aisle less than twenty feet from us. We are inconvenienced by her and feel she doesn’t rate higher than us. Around 2pm yesterday I witnessed this with my own eyes and I am just so sick and heartbroken that I can’t even think straight.
It makes me question if this society can ever be saved. I know that not everyone is like this and that there are a lot of good people around but the bad ones stick out more. I wish that I could do something to change the world we live in but I am also realistic in the fact that it has to come from many not just one, but where does one start?
There is so many things that I see that need to be fixed that it is overwhelming and I can’t even think of where to start.
Being kind is the easiest and for most requires little effort but its not enough. We can donate money to organizations that help others but then people that really don’t need the help take advantage of it and ruin it for all.
There is a part of me that wants to give up on this society and help elsewhere where people would be grateful but then that just makes me a bad person and a quitter. Remember, charity starts at home. If you start an organization to help people how do you tell the difference from the people that need help from the ones that are there to take advantage? Who are we to judge them and that is hard for me because I am guilty of judging others. I judge others all the time even though I know we are not supposed to. People in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones. I’m trying to be better but it’s harder to stop that than it is to stop swearing.
I have always had a strong desire to help others but I kept quiet about it because I was told there wasn’t anything I could do to change it and that it wasn’t my problem. With having faith and a love for God I am able to finally speak up and I am not afraid to say what I feel, or rather write what I feel. Most times it’s hard for me to get a point across because I have so much that I want to say and it’s new for me to speak up. It’s a definitely a learning process.

2ndlifeministries.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

