Looking back on 2012

I always try to look back on the past year and then decide what to name it.
A lot happened in 2012
I loved unconditionally and then I was devastated when it didn’t work out.
I lost three family members this year to Alzheimer’s and heart problems. My godmother, my mother’s dad, and my dad’s mom. When my grandmother passed in August though I was able to reconnect with family that I hadn’t seen in years and I was blessed for that. I also left my true home in Texas and moved back to the only other home I knew; Oregon. What a change that has been.
Towards the end of the year I discovered that I could be forgiven for all my sins and I asked Jesus to come into my heart and a month later I made a public declaration of my faith and love for Him. I almost lost my sister forever but He intervened and now we talk and are working to repair the relationship we each had a hand in destroying. I learned to have faith in God and that my wants and needs don’t always line up with what He knows I need. I learned that my writing is a gift from Him and through it I am able to spread His message.
This year has been full of learning, growth, some sadness, some happiness, and a whole lotta faith. I think though that this will be the year of learning.
I learned how to fully trust someone besides myself
I learned how to say goodbye
I learned how to reconnect
I learned how to forgive
I learned how to be forgiven
I learned how to have faith
I’m still working on learning a lot of new things and look forward to this new year. So hopefully this time next year I’ll be writing this and I’ll decide to name 2013 the year of growth because I’ve got a lot of growing to do.
Another thing I have learned is that things really do happen for a reason we just don’t always see it.

2lifeministries.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

