“Why should I go to church? I can be close to God in my house”

This is an excerpt from a book that I learned about today. It was in the program for my church. The book is called, An honest look at a mysterious journey.

I can’t say that I got much out of the church services during this season of our lives, good though they may well have been. That whole concept- “getting something out of a service”- arises from a consumer mindset anyways. Yet, I believe that it was essential that we attended when we wanted to least. Our worlds, already small, would have shriveled even further without this act of discipline. Being the kind of person I am, I had to try to make some sense of why I was going to church in spite of my own desires. during my least favorite season to attend church, I recorded some reasons why I kept going anyway.

Looking back over the last few months I realize that by attending church I think thoughts that I would not otherwise think, I hear truths I would not otherwise hear, I sing songs I would not otherwise sing, I meet people I would not otherwise meet, I give offerings I may not otherwise give, I rejoice in missions’ efforts and in new followers of Jesus that i would otherwise not know about, I receive encouragement and challenges that I would not otherwise receive, I shed tears I would not have otherwise shed, I receive a blessing I would not have otherwise received, I pray prayers I would not have thought to pray, I meet God in a way that I would not have met Him had I stayed home in my chair, and perhaps, my attendance is an encouragement or testimony to someone else.

When I am there I may not like every song or agree with every word spoken. That’s not the point. I may have wrestled with Him all week; but come the weekend I publicly present myself again to acknowledge my allegiance to Him. Satan may have beaten me around during the week, but I’m going to show up in church again and declare whose side I’m on.

This passage from the book reminds me of 2 Samuel 14:14

All of us must die eventually. Our lives are like water spilled out on the ground, which cannot be gathered up again. That is why God tries to bring us back when we have been separated from Him. He does not sweep away the lives of those He cares about and neither should you!

Also in 2 Samuel 22:17-18

“He reached down from heaven and rescued me; he drew me out of deep waters. He delivered me from my powerful enemies, from those who hated me and were too strong for me.”

For us to walk with God and remain true in our walk we must go to church. Having fellowship is one of His requirements. I don’t always get the chance to go because of work but when I do get the day off, I am there. A friend of mine describes it as a reset button from the week he’s had. I look at it, that it is a place where I feel calm, safe, and never judged. It is also a place where I go to learn and hear His message. It doesn’t matter what your reason is for going just so long as you go. Again I am guilty of not always going but I feel so much better when I do.

2ndlifeministries.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

